bismi-llāhi r-raḥmāni r-raḥīm

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, The Most Merciful.

I wanted to start my first post with that in an effort to remind myself that everything truly begins (and ends) with Allah. This is something I want to consciously keep in mind this upcoming year.

 

“What have you learned from your college experience?” That is the question my Chachoo (Urdu for dad’s younger brother) threw at me during his visit. That question caught me completely off guard, although I should have seen it coming considering how philosophical he is all the time. What frightened me a little was the fact that I couldn’t figure out what to say. That might have been because I was caught off guard, but as I tried to reflect on my college experience I realized I’m nowhere near where I want to be spiritually, emotionally, or academically. Then after talking to my friend, I realized that although I may not be where I want to be, I definitely have progressed mentally in order to become the person I am today. I might still be taking very small steps towards my goals, but they are still steps.

Sometimes we really just have to take a step back and look at all the positives in our life, even if they may seem to be a few, there are always some positives present.

That is what this blog will be about. My journey to positivity and happiness.

Leave a Reply

