The Benefits of Struggling

Today was my last class AND last counseling session of my first semester pursuing a masters in counseling. Going into the program, the professors and students further in the program told us that just the first semester would change our lives drastically. When I thought of myself day to day or even week to week, I felt like I hadn’t really changed much. But after my last counseling session, my counselor showed me the result of my Adult Self Report from the beginning of the semester and the second one I took at the end. I was shocked at the progress I had made in just 11 weeks! When I thought about the semester holistically, I realized that I really had changed. And just like that I witnessed the power of counseling first-hand after only one semester in the program.

There is a huge stigma attached to counseling. It is assumed that if you are seeking counseling, there must be something wrong with you. However, it is completely normal and even healthy to seek counseling even if it is simply for personal growth. As humans there are small things that bother us throughout the day that we do not take time to process. This sometimes tends to be the case even for huge things that happen in our life. We are so busy in our everyday lives that we forget to take a step back and process what is going on. Through counseling I was able to process things as they happened to me on a week to week basis and I could literally feel burdens being lifted off my shoulders. Working on your personal growth can help you be more in tune, accepting, and at peace with yourself. And once you’re able to do that, you can essentially do anything you set your mind to. Accepting yourself and all that you are is the biggest life struggle many individuals face.

My professor gave us this paper at the end of class today and the story really resonated with me. Change and progress doesn’t come easily. There are many different things we have to deal with at different stages in our life. However, once we look at the bigger picture, its easier to see just how those struggles made us better people and who we are today.

 

IMG_1059.jpg

Leave a Reply

